Javascript is required to view this site. Skip to main content
Text:    -   | Translate

Peace Officer Merit Commission

In accordance with the Peace Officer Merit System Act, the County Council has established a Peace Officer Merit Commission that is a bipartisan body, consisting of three members who are appointed by the Council for staggered six-year terms.
Among other things, this system provides processes to ensure fair and impartial treatment of applicants, addresses compensation and benefits, and a system for promotional advancement through competitive testing for Salt Lake County Deputy Sheriffs, Correctional Officers and Protective Service Officers.
The Merit Commission also provides a formal procedure for processing appeals and grievances of employees without discrimination, coercion, restraint, or reprisal.


David Salazar
Martha Stonebrook
Vice Chair
Chris Bertram

Merit Commission Staff

Carita Lucy
Merit Commission Administrator
Sheriff's Office HR
Sgt Luke
Merit Commission Coordinator
Sheriff's Office HR
Hillary Davis
Merit Commission Coordinator
Sheriff's Office HR

General Information

POMC Policies & Procedures